Divine Poetry – Day 11 – Found Poem(s)

1. How do people judge you? 4 of Wands

What were we who had strayed in here?
That was the question.
She seemed uncanny and fateful.
The Earth seemed unearthly.
A haze rested on low shores
That ran out to sea in vanishing flatness.
It had known the ships and men.
Some, I had heard, got drowned in the surf;
But whether they did or did not,
Nobody seemed to particularly care.
My dear boys, it was no good bothering.
A blow to the very heart.
Perhaps, I had a little fever, too.
I did my best.

From “The Heart of Darkness” by Joseph Conrad

2. What feelings do I follow? 5 of Cups; reverse

This is so frustrating.
How about we talk about a girl who wakes up
Screaming in the middle of the night
And can’t look at herself in the mirror?
I’ve been up for 6 hours.
I’m scared.
I’m not sure what I should do.
I shouldn’t be afraid of my happiness leaving me.
I am stressed and I just need to take a moment to breath.
I’m not a perfect cog, I can’t control everything,
Nor can I let everything control me.
I can move forward.
It doesn’t have to be much or even any at all.
I don’t know how far I’ll get today,
But I’m finally doing something.

Thanks to Blacklilydivination for letting me use her blog.

3. Where does my wisdom come from? 2 of Coins

Prize Ghost Stories published one issue
Focused almost entirely on stories about ghosts,
Stories with less obvious appeal.
Ghost Stories ceased publication at the start of 1932
Readers grew bored: the limited scope meant
That the contents of the magazine eventually became predictable.

From Ghost Stories Wiki

Leave a Reply

