NaPoWriMo – Day Five – ‘Summer Nights’

It’s been a long day, but I wrote what I could. This poem is using the prompt to do a Mary Oliver inspired look at the natural world – unfortunately I’m not to familiar with her work to do any justice, but I do enjoy writing with nature themes. I’ll have to grab a book of her’s next paycheck.

‘Summer Nights’

I wish to sit outside again
On my little concrete porch to dream
In between August sunset and evening.

Watching it through these windows,
These still windows that stand everywhere,
Make the summer nights so cold.

Once, when I had a little chair,
A little home and wanted a little air,
I’d sit outside and watch the darkness fall
Inch by hungry, warm inch.

Leave a Reply

