NaPoWriMo – Day Six – “America Working”

Today’s prompt was to try out a perspective poem! I’ve never done one before, so it was a little difficult and I think it’s still a little to one-sided.
Onwards anyway!

“America Working”

1)
I work because I want to.
I work because I am told to.
I eat because I am told to.
I eat because I want to.
How things have changed.

2)
“Don’t work too hard”
Has slowly replaced
“Have a good day at work”

3)
The middle-aged soccer mom agrees.
The young waitress needs to toughen
Up a little more – Crying is not the way
To respond to being screamed at
For giving her a Pepsi instead of a Coke.

4)
Once, we were all dreaming
That Big American Dream,
And then the alarm went off,
We got up, got dressed, and went to
The rest of the nightmare.

5)
Sometimes dreams come true.
Be good. Go to school. Get lucky
And end up making enough for rent,
Debt bills, and sometimes food.
Six days a week, Twelve hour weekends,
I dreamed I’d have a job and it’s true.

Leave a Reply

