NaPoWriMo – Day Twenty-One – ‘Spending Time’

Sorry for being late – My day off work was spent at work. Tomorrow I will probably be late as well as I’m scheduled for around 17 hours. Long day tomorrow… Anyway, today’s prompt was to incorporate overhead speech into a poem! Here you all go!
‘Spending Time’

I heard a woman singing today
“I don’t wanna give you all my time”
While we worked, worked long hours.
How powerful she was for singing those words
In a day and age, in a time and place,
Where all our time is money, pure money
Instead of a simple way to measure our life.

“I don’t wanna give you all my time”
When was the last time I spoke, not thought
To myself quietly that my time is mine.
When was the last time any of us was allowed
To demand our time, for blessed solitude or not –
I do not even remember when I last spent
My time, my very own life, on me without worrying
The money I was wasting not working or performing.
If only, if only I got to consume my own life
As strongly as she dared sing for her’s.

Leave a Reply

