Shadow of May – Day Nineteen – ‘Death’ and ‘Life’

Today’s Shadow of May question was: How can I embrace death? – but today, instead of writing a new piece after drawing my cards, I drew my cards and was reminded of two older pieces that I’d written last year around September, but had never posted or shared. ‘Death’ answers the question though – and I can’t think of any other way to word the answer I got. I’m including ‘Life’ with death, because… well… I wrote them together and I’d like to keep them together though they can stand alone.

 
“Death”
I asked for a bottle
Of straight black rum
And it brought me a cup
Of hot, gently sweetened tea,
Sat down beside me
And said, “Honey,
Let’s talk.”
“Life”
I asked for a cup
Of hot tea to calm my nerves,
And was brought a bottle
Of straight black rum.
While it stood above me
It offered, “Cheers,
And good luck”
Leave a Reply

