Word of the Day – Arbitrary – ‘Sink into Them’

Today’s word of the day is Arbitrarybased on or determined by individual preference or convenience rather than by necessity or the intrinsic nature of something or depending on individual discretion (as of a judge) and not fixed by law. I enjoyed writing this one. I feel like I’m missing a stanza toward the end, but at the moment I have nothing to add tonight. Maybe later.

‘Sink Into Them’

All these words of mine are just arbitrary,
Sink into them, the lists of little things I’ve lived,
Lists of the life and things I dared to try.

All these words basking lightly on my tongue-
Let me show you the dictionary they’ve grown to become in my heart,
Just fistfuls of sounds strung together about this normal enough life.

No real definitions, no solid order, no set pronunciation guidelines-
Just lists of words: all the colors and shapes, adjectives and nouns,
Phrases and memories that dot my book from imaginative cover to cover.

I welcome you to my words, erratic all my terribly comforting words,
Our words. Happy, sad, chaotic, black, blue, green, regardless-
Let’s live with words on tongue together, separate, and unreasonable.

If you like my poetry try checking out my book Moth-Like.! I just published the paperback and eBook at the beginning of this month!

Leave a Reply

